A Deadly Weapon

01-10-07

My eyes grow weak with sorrow; they fail because of all my foes…. The Lord has heard my weeping. The Lord has heard my cry for mercy; the Lord accepts my prayer.
Psalm 6:7-9

The eyes dimmed are symbolic for a failing strength, grief, longings unsatisfied, or hope deferred. The frequent weapon used against the psalmist is the tongue. The tongue is as deadly as the sword (Psalm 57:4; 64:3-4). Only in God’s courtroom can one experience redress for such attacks.

As Psalm 4:4 states, I will strive not to sin in my anger, pain or grief. I will search my heart and be silent. The Lord has heard my cry and accepts my prayer. Thank You Jesus!

Lord, help me to lift my eyes. You are my strength and joy – without You I am nothing. Help me to keep my eyes on You, loving You first and foremost and loving even my foes. Please continue to be by my side. I can’t do this without You. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

