The Cost: Complete Surrender

01-14-07

“Suppose one of you wants to build a tower. Will he not first sit down and estimate the cost to see if he has enough money to complete it? … any one you who does not give up everything he has cannot be my disciple.
Luke 14:28-33

Jesus doesn’t want a blind, naive commitment that expects only blessings. As a builder estimates the costs or a king evaluates military strength, so a person must consider what commitment is expected in following Christ and whether they are willing to continue on. The cost, Jesus warned, is complete surrender to Him.

God wants my commitment to be my own; personal and real. He wants me to invest time into my relationship with Him to see that He is in fact who He says He is. I desire to see more of Who He says He is, also!

Lord, I desire my walk to be without struggle or sparing. I don’t want to hesitate in my faith any longer. I completely surrender! In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

