Precious Friends

01-21-07

You have taken from me my closest friends and have made me repulsive to them. I am confined and cannot escape; my eyes are dim with grief. I call to you, O LORD, every day; I spread out my hands to you.
Psalm 88:8-9

The psalmist knows no reason for it, but he knows God’s hand is in it. He does not try to resolve the hopelessly puzzling experience; he simply pleads his case. In the psalms, loss of friends was not uncommon, even close and trusted friends.

The call of God is to praise in times of grief and seeming hopelessness. Dancing and joy to replace wailing and mourning so that songs of praise (not silence) may accompany the acts of God. I am simply asked to trust Him.

Lord, I put my trust in You, putting myself and all that’s involved into Your hands; into Your care. I place my life and all that is in it, before You, my faithful and trustworthy God. Deliver me from all my trouble. Bless me in Jesus’ name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

