Don’t Procrastinate!

And for their sakes I sanctify Myself, that they also may be sanctified by the truth. John 17:19

As Jesus did, I must sanctify myself through the truth for the sake of my family.

Abraham lied to Pharaoh by saying that his beautiful wife was his sister and Pharaoh heaped riches on Abraham. There is no record of Abraham’s repentance. Instead he justified his deception by saying Sarah was indeed his half-sister. Did any consequences result from Abraham’s lie?

Yes.  When we read on into the life of Isaac, we see that he felt no shame in LYING the very same lie.  Our choices have generational effects.  What we do effects GENERATIONS after us.  We are representing Christ and modeling repentance, teaches righteousness and integrity in the Lord.

I struggle with the sin of procrastination.  Whenever I ponder this… and procrastinate about dealing with it, a sermon I once heard about the plague of frogs comes to mind.  Moses had warned Pharaoh of the plague of frogs that would come if he didn’t free the Israelites.

“Thus says the LORD: ‘Let My people go, that they may serve Me. But if you refuse to let them go, behold, I will smite all your territory with frogs.  So the river shall bring forth frogs abundantly, which shall go up and come into your house, into your bedroom, on your bed, into the houses of your servants, on your people, into your ovens, and into your kneading bowls.  And the frogs shall come up on you, on your people, and on all your servants.'” Exodus 8:1-4

Pharaoh’s response was “Tomorrow.”

So he said, “Tomorrow.” And he said, “Let it be according to your word, that you may know that there is11 And the frogs shall depart from you, from your houses, from your servants, and from your people. They shall remain in the river only.” no one like the LORD our God. Exodus 8:10-11

It might just be me, but if the river was overflowing with frogs and they were coming into my home, my bedroom, on my bed, in my oven, and where I prepared my food – I would not want to wait until TOMORROW for it to stop!  And yet, here I procrastinate SO MANY things in my life as though it were less of a burden than a houseful of FROGS!

My goal for today is to not wait for tomorrow, but to do as I need to, TODAY.

Father God, help me to see what needs to be done and do it.  Help me to do it today and not wait for tomorrow.  For, as Your Word states: you do not know what will happen tomorrow (James 4:14). Lord, help my family to avoid the consequences of my sins by helping me be successful, that they may reap the blessings from my successes!  In the name of Jesus, set apart and full of majesty.  Amen.

to him who knows to do good and does not do it, to him it is sin. James 4:17

Leave a Reply

