Nourishing the Spirit

Every man shall take for himself a lamb… Your lamb shall be without blemish… eat the flesh on that night; roasted in fire, with unleavened bread and with bitter herbs they shall eat it… And thus you shall eat it: with a belt on your waist, your sandals on your feet, and your staff in your hand. So you shall eat it in haste. It is the LORD’s Passover. Exodus 12:1-28 (I concentrated on v. 1-11)

The institution of the passover began here when Moses and Aaron was instructed to roast a lamb with unleavened bread and herbs while wearing a belt around the waste, sandals on their feet and holding a staff in their hands – and to eat in haste so as to . This is symbolic for the necessity of our haste departure from sin and bondage after the acceptance and embracing of Jesus as our Lord and Savior.

This brings me back to my last devotion “The Carnal Nature”: I am to eat the Word of God, allowing it to nourish my soul, mind, and body with its nutrients.  Scripture reveals that the Word is Jesus and Jesus is the lamb.

Father, it is clear I need to get into the scriptures and eat all that You lay before me.  It is what brings wisdom, knowledge, and health.  Lead me and speak to me as I embark on this journey I’ve neglected so!  In Jesus’ holy name I pray.  Amen!

Leave a Reply

