His yoke is easy and His burden, light.

I awoke to the sun’s array,
“What a light burden.” I say.
I look at how far He’s brought me
I’m not yet who I’m going to be…
I remind myself, someday.

My burden was hard to carry
Not light; on the contrary,
The heavy load was just too much
Than my hands were made to clutch
But now my heart is merry.

I awoke to the sun’s array,
“What a light burden.” I say.
Now when I think of where I’m going
I remind myself that I’m still growing
I tell myself, work on this day.

I was weary, He’s given me rest
I no longer feel so stressed
My hope is renewed, my heart full of joy
I can’t focus on how I might annoy
Instead I learn by what I’ve been blessed

I awoke to the sun’s array,
“What a light burden.” I say.
How can they understand,
Of this freedom in which I stand?
I ponder, maybe one day.

Leave a Reply

