Race to the Finish Line

“let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith” Hebrews 12:1b-12a

Remove unnecessary burdens and refuse to take responsibility for things that are not your responsibility to take. Stop sinning and instead run and push through in this life with eyes fixed on Jesus who has given us faith and will bring us to the day of completion.

The yoke of Christ is light, so if I feel weighted down, I’m carrying burdens that I’m instructed to lay down. Repentance can only take place if sin has taken place, therefore my repentance can only occur for MY sin. So then, I turn from MY sin and I don’t walk, but RUN toward the Lord refusing to get distracted by life’s hurdles. No, I jump over them with the strength of Christ until the day I reach the finish line. Some people will race for sport, fund raising and charity events, etc. … how much more should I do this for the sake of eternity with my Lord!

Father God, I pray I would push on and keep my eyes focused on the goal – to reach You. I’m so thankful for the Son and Spirit helping me like breath and water in a physical race. Bless me and keep me, guide me and see me through! In Jesus’ name! Amen.

Leave a Reply

