Offensive Words

“NOT MANY [of you] should become teachers ([a]self-constituted censors and reprovers of others), my brethren, for you know that we [teachers] will be judged by a higher standard and with greater severity [than other people; thus we assume the greater accountability and the more condemnation]. For we all often stumble and fall and offend in many things. And if anyone does not offend in speech [never says the wrong things], he is a fully developed character and a perfect man, able to control his whole body and to curb his entire nature.” James 3:1-2

Be prepared, if you should become a teacher, to be held at a higher standard and to experience judgment and condemnation from others. When you teach people, you are holding people accountable and some people will choose to be offended and look down on you in accordance to your failures. The cultivation of self control and use of words will empower us to reach people who want to hear what is being said.

Without even knowing it, I’ve become like a teacher. I have learned things and shared them with others and I’ve certainly experienced my share of judgment and condemnation because of it. It is in this that I see that my tongue is what’s getting me into trouble. The goal for today is to LISTEN AND PRAY ~ THEN speak.

So Lord, knowing that my tongue is can get away from me, I pray for you to empower me to bridle my tongue and word things in a way that is clear and understandable. Thank you for the courage You’ve given me to continue to speak Your truth, Lord. Bless my tongue to do so, and may my words be pleasing to You. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

