A Heart of Sincerity and Truth

“Therefore let us keep the feast, not with old leaven, nor with the leaven of malice and wickedness, but with the unleavened bread of sincerity and truth.” 1 Corinthians 5:8

I am to keep my diet and remove the leaven of malice and wickedness – stop being spiteful, having an ill will and remove the pain ridden toil from my life and the environment for my family. Even if it’s hidden; it’s still there and needs to be completely removed.

During my diet, yeast has been something to be avoided. I see now the value that God has placed on this spiritual significance of this. It’s time to stop getting frustrated with my kids! It’s time to stop entertaining these sinful thoughts and allowing them to emerge. The pain ridden toil is evil. That simple. It’s time to focus on this area of my life.

Lord God, this has been a fight of mine; allowing the frustrations of my heart to determine how I handle a situation, whether it be to walk away or speak more harshly than necessary. In order to stop the poor responses, I must first remove it from within. Lord, help me cultivate in me sincerity and truth – YOUR truth. May my inner motives be pure and may they glorify You; and may I not give in to the illusion of my heart in justification of these acts but to be honest about their reality. I give these – malice and wickedness – to You, Lord. Help me to replace them with Your wonderful attributes. In Jesus name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

