The Comfort of God

“But food does not commend us to God; for neither if we eat are we the better, nor if we do not eat are we the worse.” 1 Corinthians 8:8

Our diets are not the bridge to God; Christ is.

Last night, I was really overwhelmed after the day. I was stressed and despite my conviction against doing so, I ate some brownies. After doing it, I felt awful and like complete junk. I felt like I had failed God and that I wouldn’t feel His presence again. As I went grocery shopping, God reminded me that I’m not what I’ve done, but what I’ve overcome and that He’s saving me from my destructive ways. It’s more about getting me to be more like Him than what’s happening in this very moment – this is all leading to something BIG and He’s here by my side.  Then as I bought food, I was thinking “I need this so I can be near Him; I can’t go without Him again!” If I had read my devotions last night, I would have gone to bed knowing, it’s not this diet that is bringing me to Him; it’s ME. I am reminded of the passage, Romans 8:38-39 “For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” No circumstance can separate me from Him unless I push Him away, and even then He doesn’t go away without His own fight.

Father… oh my Daddy God! I am so thankful for your comfort in such a struggle. You sought to reach me in what ways that surrounded me – hearing, eyesight, and touch. You used my husbands comforting arms to show me I wasn’t alone, the songs of Your saints to remind me of what You are doing, and Your awesome Word to speak volumes about our relationship. How grateful I am that You are my God!! I thank You and praise You for Your covering and forgiveness and genuine love.

Leave a Reply

