Do Not Be Misled

“Do not be misled: ‘Bad company corrupts good character.'” 1 Corinthians 15:33

Do not be led to go astray: The companionship and communication with those who have inner disposition to injure others will destroy and waste away, causing one’s gentleness, pleasantness, and kindness to wither away.

Sadly, I’m seeing this in hindsight. I’ve always heard this scripture, but never had it broken down. I experienced firsthand how spending time with wicked (the unjust, the wrongdoers, the violent) sapped out what goodness I had in me. Lord knows the work I’ve put in to try to remove the wickedness I embraced and to replace it with goodness. It’s hard. I must stay on my guard to not spend too much time with these people; namely the one God’s brought to the forefront of my mind, who have caused this to happen.

Lord, you brought a person to my mind as I read this. I pray I would always seek Your will regarding the relationship and time spent together with this person. Help me to remember what You’ve revealed to me. In Jesus name, I pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

