Be Like Him – Be Holy

Scripture: “As obedient children, do not conform to the evil desires you had when you lived in ignorance. But just as he who called you is holy, so be holy in all you do; for it is written: “’Be holy, because I am holy.’” 1 Peter 1:14-15

Observation: The temptations we face no longer have a hold on our lives; He has set us apart and calls us to be separate and holy because He is. He is calling us to be like Him ~ to love, forgive, speak, and be without “malice, deceit, hypocrisy, envy, and slander of every kind.” (1 Peter 2:1)

Application: In this time when there is a roller coaster of emotions, I need to remember Him; remember to love like him, forgive like Him, speak like Him, and simply BE like Him. I am to remove all malice (spite, vicious disposition, wickedness), deceit (trickery), hypocrisy (insincere, playacting), envy (grudge), and slander (backbiting) of every kind. I must not be spiteful; who am I? I must no longer try to be something others expect; I am God’s child not theirs. I must be what I am and who I am – sincere in all I do. I must not begrudge the relationship that has been lost; it’s for His glory. I must forgive. Period.

Prayer: Lord, be here in this moment. I pray I would remember these words and I would trust and rely on You. You have shown Yourself faithful and trustworthy time and time again. So I fall into your arms and I hear Your words. I love you and I am here to serve You. In Jesus name, amen.

One thought on “Be Like Him – Be Holy

  1. This is an awesome post! To be Holy like Him is to walk in His Spirit, and there are so many awesome changes going on in your life. That is so awesome. May the Lord bless you and you are a righteous woman and your heart is in the right place and for that you know He will keep you. My prayers are with you and I will help hold you up during this time of weakness in your flesh.

    Like

Leave a Reply

