You Will See Greater Things Than That

Scripture: When Jesus saw Nathanael approaching, he said of him, “Here truly is an Israelite in whom there is no deceit.”
“How do you know me?” Nathanael asked.
Jesus answered, “I saw you while you were still under the fig tree before Philip called you.”
Then Nathanael declared, “Rabbi, you are the Son of God; you are the king of Israel.”
Jesus said, “You believe because I told you I saw you under the fig tree. You will see greater things than that.” He then added, “Very truly I tell you will see heaven open, and the angels of God ascending and descending on the Son of Man.” John 1:47-51

Observation: It is a big deal when we come to an understanding that God knows who we are and can see the truth about us. It’s humbling and an honor to be known by Him.

Application: God knows me. He saw me when I was called. Now, God is saying ~ “You believe because I told you I saw you… you will see greater things than that!” I am seeing greater things and I will continue still because God continues to move in my life and the lives around me and refusing to allow even one to be brought down but continues to build them up closer to Him so that none will perish but all can come to know Him.

Prayer: Lord, I pray, since I am looking forward to seeing You, that You would rid me of my impatience, purify me of my blemishes, help me in my temptation, and remove any discontent from my heart and replace it with your amazing peace. Bring understanding and reveal to me the things that which I must guard against. May I grow in Your grace and in Your knowledge and may all of it bring glory to You. In Jesus’ name! Amen.

Leave a Reply

