Walking in the Wilderness

Luke 4:1-13

Brought from repentance and being full of the Holy Spirit, I was led into the wilderness. During that time in the wilderness, God had planned for me to fast and I didn’t listen. It is because of this disobedience and the consequences of sin that I have learned the following lessons from the Lord.

If the enemy questions, “if you’re a child of God then hasn’t God given you a free will to choose whatever it is that you want to eat?”

As Jesus, I am to say to him: “It is written, That man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word of God.”

And if the devil gives a momentary glimpse of a kingdom full of seemingly precious things and questions “will you worship me for all of this?”

As Jesus, I am to say to him: “Get thee behind me, Satan: for it is written, Thou shalt worship the Lord thy God, and him only shalt thou serve.”

Then if the enemy brings you to a place of being loved by man, and questions “don’t you trust that God will never leave you nor forsake you?”

As Jesus, I am to say to him: “It is said, Thou shalt not tempt the Lord thy God.”

Then, the devil will depart for a season but he will return. Therefore we must obey God, stay on our guard, and continually stand firm against temptation.

Lord, be with me and bring this to my remembrance!

Leave a Reply

