We were watching tv the other day and there was a commercial about a diet pill to “lose that saggy baby belly” and Katlyn started to cry. When I asked her what was wrong, she said that it hurt her feelings because it made her feel like she shouldn’t have been born. Talk about perspective. I have what my kids call “pizza dough belly” that I’ve come to appreciate and love. I nurtured 4 human beings who call me Mama in that belly. I experienced falling in love with someone I hadn’t even met yet in that belly. I have grown and matured as much and more spiritually, emotionally, and mentally, as I did physically with each child I carried in that belly. As long as I have my “pizza dough belly” I will love it. It will be a reminder of these days that I’ve been able to birth children and enjoy the experience of pregnancy.

Leave a Reply

