The Rush of Parenting: A Rollercoaster Ride

Parenting is such an interesting journey… it’s new and different with each child and it is constantly changing… because as parents and children, we’re people who are constantly growing and changing. This journey of motherhood, as described by a dear friend of mine, has been like a roller coaster. It has moments of pause where we’re actually slowly ascending up to the top before plummeting down the first hill, taking sharp curves, and sometimes even going upside down… then the pause and we go through it again… expected and yet no way to stop the rush you feel as you experience it.

Yes. A roller coaster! That’s what parenting has been like for me. lol

My oldest daughter just recently started puberty. It’s been an exciting and beautiful journey to be her mom as well as trying and challenging as I learn to be a good mom to meet her needs. She’s my first, so I am learning a lot as we go. I’ve never had a tween before and I had no idea that it was during this age that many girls begin to deal with the woes of hormonal changes and finding out who they are. I thought this would come later… but here we are.

We’ve been going pretty fast through it lately, feeling the rush of stress and emotion as we try to figure each other out – while I try to share a home with a fellow hormonal female. I’m so thankful for women who’ve been there before me and their wisdom to share. I got some great ideas today in ways to help her. Making sure she’s getting nutrients she needs to keep her hormones balanced, staying hydrated, sharing a moment together over some chocolate when the stresses begin to rise, and some time to experience the quiet alone and of course time alone with the Lord.

Coming off a major curve, I’m looking forward to seeing us work through this new moment of pause and see some growth in us both and in our relationship as we bond closer together in friendship during this challenging time. I pray I be the mother and friend she needs me to be; that she can count on and turn to. I’m imperfect and have no clue what I’m doing on some days, but man, did God do such an amazing work when He created this person that He forever changed my life with.

My sweet 11yo daughter… I’m so honored to be living this life with you. ♥

Leave a Reply

