Exploited

I dealt with some of these 15 Narcissistic Religious Abuse Tactics before I took a step back from J. At one point, we had minimal contact for 7 years. One attempt during those 7 years, I volunteered private information about myself and how I noticed that back before everything hit the fan, years prior, I had come to idolize her, and not like ‘I looked up to her,’ but that I had begun to care more about what she thought of me than what God thought of me. She smiled and said, “Wow, I didn’t know you were going through that.” She seemed pleased… I reasoned that it must have been due to the fact that we were reconciling and finally ‘understanding’ each other… now, I believe it made her feel good to know I had worshiped her.

She took this as an opportunity to keep me at a distance and told me it was because of the pain I had inflicted on her and how I reminded her of only pain. I felt awful about myself… again. She never apologized for saying hateful lies to friends and family about me and out of respect, I never brought it up. She exploited my vulnerabilities, honesty, and my convictions of being a kinder and more loving person.

Leave a Reply

