Boundaries

“In the beginning of my healing journey, I was afraid of being re-victimized. Some people thought I was overly sensitive or reactive. It was often difficult for me to distinguish between current abuse and unresolved wounds of the past. I gave myself permission to set temporary boundaries that seemed excessive. My boundaries didn’t mean that the other person had done anything wrong, only that I needed a safe place to hear my heart and figure out if I was in a relationship with an abuser or if I was reacting to the pain of my past (or both). The more I affirmed my feelings and made my safety a priority, the more I could trust myself to keep me safe and the less I feared being victimized again.” The Rescued Soul by Christina Enevoldsen

One thought on “Boundaries

Leave a Reply

