Remove and Replace

Scripture: “But to what shall I compare this generation? It is like children sitting in the marketplaces and calling to their playmates,

“‘We played the flute for you, and you did not dance;
    we sang a dirge, and you did not mourn.’

For John came neither eating nor drinking, and they say, ‘He has a demon.’ The Son of Man came eating and drinking, and they say, ‘Look at him! A glutton and a drunkard, a friend of tax collectors and sinners!’ Yet wisdom is justified by her deeds.”

Then he began to denounce the cities where most of his mighty works had been done, because they did not repent. Matthew 11:16-20

Observation: The people condemn no matter what the action.

Application: I stay quiet and I’m called fake. I speak and I’m called a liar. I give grace and I’m called self-righteous. I rebuke and I’m called judgmental. This is why the only direction I must walk is that in the way of repentance to God the Father. Everything I do, say, believe, or feel will have someone picking it apart. I am ME and my hearts desire is to only walk as the Lord leads… I have those in my life who encourage me and correct my steps according to the scriptures and the leading of the Holy Spirit and the Lord confirms their words to me when they are from Him. In the same respect, I can see how I might do this also. I do not want to see anything other than what God sees.

Prayer: Thank You God that Your way of conviction is not through insults, shame, or tearing one down. Thank you that You are clear and that Your rebuke brings about a heart change. You do not tear me down, but you edify me with Your loving kindness and you stand by the promises in Your Word. I pray that you remove from me any of the ways from this passage. I want to only see people as YOU see them and not simply what it appears. I don’t want to make assumptions. I want to know Your heart and I want to judge according to what You see. Help me to walk this out. Father, replace any of these ways of thinking with Your thoughts. Make me more like you. Less of me Lord. In Jesus’ name, I pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

