The Spirit of The Lord

Scripture: “There shall come forth a shoot from the stump of Jesse, and a branch from his roots shall bear fruit.  And the Spirit of the Lord shall rest upon him, the Spirit of wisdom and understanding, the Spirit of counsel and might, the Spirit of knowledge and the fear of the Lord.  And his delight shall be in the fear of the Lord.  He shall not judge by what his eyes see, or decide disputes by what his ears hear, but with righteousness he shall judge the poor, and decide with equity for the meek of the earth; and he shall strike the earth with the rod of his mouth, and with the breath of his lips he shall kill the wicked.  Righteousness shall be the belt of his waist, and faithfulness the belt of his loins.” Isaiah 11:1-5

Observation: The Spirit of the Lord rest upon Jesus, full of wisdom and understanding, counsel and might, and knowledge and the fear of the Lord.  Christ’s delight was in the fear of the Lord and did not judge by what he saw nor decided disputes by what he heard, but with righteousness he judged the poor and decided for the meek. His words had power to destroy the wicked as he walked with the belt of righteousness and faithfulness.

Application: I desire to be more like Christ, walking out the call of God on my life with the Spirit of the Lord resting upon me. I desire to delight in the fear of the Lord and no longer judge based on perception but through the leading of the Holy Spirit.  I desire to walk with righteousness and use my words for God’s mighty purpose.

Prayer: Lord, although I have gotten into your Word regularly and take the time to apply it to my life, I desire even more for my relationship with you.  As Christ, I desire to walk with the belt of righteousness and faithfulness around me.  Pour out your Spirit upon my head and find Your dwelling inside me.  I pray that everything I do be led by You.  I desire to use all of my words to honor You, Lord. Help me in this because I don’t feel equipped for this call.  As I’ve asked you before, truly, who am I? I have wrestled with so many things inside of myself.  You have always been with me as I’ve worked through those things, so God, work with me now.  I know you didn’t call me to this, just to leave me now, so work with me.  Show me the next step. You are the lamp unto my path, and I long to take the steps You reveal along the way. In Christ’s powerful and awesome name, I pray. Thank You, Lord. Amen.

Leave a Reply

