Endure: Do Not Give In

Scripture: “For we know him who said, “Vengeance is mine; I will repay.” And again, “The Lord will judge his people.” It is a fearful thing to fall into the hands of the living God. But recall the former days when, after you were enlightened, you endured a hard struggle with sufferings, sometimes being publicly exposed to reproach and affliction, and sometimes being partners with those so treated. For you had compassion on those in prison, and you joyfully accepted the plundering of your property, since you knew that you yourselves had a better possession and an abiding one. Therefore do not throw away your confidence, which has a great reward. For you have need of endurance, so that when you have done the will of God you may receive what is promised.” Hebrews 10:30-36

Observation: The fear of the Lord is both seeking to honor Him and fleeing from sin, because do not want to experience the consequences of such.  However, it’s also out of love, knowing that enduring hard struggles and getting stripped of what belongs to us doesn’t compare to the greater possession I have in Christ, that will last.  The endurance is necessary and good, and when we do as the Lord leads, we will not be disappointed.

Application: I remember a journal entry from years ago… where I heard the Lord speak to me from His Word, “Vengeance is mine. I will repay,” as He told me not to repay evil for evil. I know He’s saying this to me again, which is the direction I was going. Being accused of being vindictive and twisting the purpose of my book hurt me, and what began as hurt, slowly began to morph. Thankfully, God sees me and doesn’t leave me to myself. He revealed it to me.

I don’t want my heart to hold darkness in it. I want to forgive and I want to stay tender, no matter what comes my way. The words wicked and evil are often summed up as the darkest of dark, but to God, it’s simply the twisting of what is good. I don’t want to twist good. I don’t need to make right. My journaling was for healing and my book was to help others who need to hear what I have shared. It was about nothing more. I don’t want to make it about anything more.

I believe that is what I felt in my spirit when I felt like the Lord was slamming the door of the last chapter shut. It’s time to let go, it’s time to move on. My part in that has been completed. The Lord brought me through healing and the Lord gave me strength and purpose. Now it’s time to walk it out.

Prayer: Lord, thank you that you don’t leave me to my own devices. You didn’t just give us this book and walk off, hoping the best for us. You gave us Your Word and You speak to me, walk with me, and guide me every step of the way. Continue to use me right where I’m at to help me get to where You’re bringing me; do what You’re calling me to do; be all You created me for. I’m so thankful for you. I’m so thankful that I have You… my greatest possession, that will always be here and will always last. If I lose everything else, I’ve lost nothing if I still have You. Thank You Lord. I’m so grateful for You. Amen.

Leave a Reply

