God’s Best Offer

Scripture: “Since therefore Christ suffered in the flesh, arm yourselves with the same way of thinking, for whoever has suffered in the flesh has ceased from sin, so as to live for the rest of the time in the flesh no longer for human passions but for the will of God.”  1 Peter 4:1-2

Observation: suffered (acted upon in a certain way, either good or bad; experience ill treatment); flesh (body, human nature, materiality); arm (make ready, equip); thinking (purpose, design, intention); ceased (restrain); sin (missing the mark, failure, guilt); live (pass my life); passions (built on strong feelings, urges; focused on); will of God (desire; God’s ‘best offer’).

Application: As Christ was acted upon in His human form, so therefore I am to equip myself (and allow God to equip me) for the same purpose, walking out as God calls me to, striving to remove every sin from my life.  I want to walk out God’s best offer for my life and not settle for just anything that grabs my attention and demands my focus.

Prayer: Lord, I love that description of Your will: Your ‘best offer’. I want to walk out Your best offer and never settle. Continue to help me as You bring me down this journey of addressing each sin of my heart and making it right. I don’t want to just be sinless in action, but I want to be free from desiring after sin; free from the bondage of lies. You make all things new and I’m so grateful You are doing so in me. Thank You for everything. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

