Abide in Christ

Scripture: So Jesus said to the Jews who had believed him, ‘If you abide in my word, you are truly my disciples,  and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.’  They answered him, ‘We are offspring of Abraham and have never been enslaved to anyone. How is it that you say, “You will become free”?’  Jesus answered them, ‘Truly, truly, I say to you, everyone who practices sin is a slave to sin. The slave does not remain in the house forever; the son remains forever.  So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.'”  John 8:31-36

Observation: abide (remain, continue, keep), word (divine utterance, Christ expressing the thoughts of the Father through the Spirit), disciples (learner, follower), know (take in knowledge, realize), truth (genuine, reflecting true reality), truth (truth of idea, truth in moral sphere, divine truth revealed to man), set you free (liberate, release from bondage, true spiritual growth), enslaved (subject to, obeyed, devoted to), practices sin (to act on or cause guilt or fault, failure), slave (someone who belongs to another), sin (missing the target in archery), remain (abide, continue, keep), son (anyone sharing the same nature of the Father), forever (an age, a cycle of time).

Application: I woke up suddenly this morning after having a pretty devastating and traumatic dream.  However, my response was to get in the Word and now I can see what it meant.  Losing one of my children to the slavery of sin, watching them bound and tortured by guilt and shame, causes my stomach to turn.  I want my children to be free from bondage and to experience true spiritual growth, much in the same sense as I want to experience it. I must teach and show my children to abide in Christ, to remain in Him and what that means and looks like. I want them to be free.

Prayer: Lord, whenever my children have nightmares, I tell them to turn it around for something good. It’s hard when it’s so awful, but I can see that You’re doing just that for me here. I pray that my ignorance or distraction would not hinder a single one of these little ones to come to You and stay with You.  Help me to remove my iniquity to honor You and to not cause a single one to sin.  Continue to guide me as I pursue the call on my life to be set free and devoted only to You. Surround my children with Your warring angels and protect their hearts and minds, filtering everything they see and hear through the blood of Christ. Give them dreams and visions of you, enlightening them to Your truth that they may remain in it, and allowing them to see their value in You. Thank You for these blessings, and thank You for not leaving me to figure this out alone. In Jesus’ name and beauty, thank You for all of these things. Amen.

Leave a Reply

